I left Papertown

Hello everybody!!

As I already said in one of my last post, I didn’t get to reading quite as much as I would’ve like these past years. So about a month ago I did something I told myself to never get into…. I bought an e-reader… *DUMDUMDUUUUM*

Why did I buy an e-reader? well for the simple reason that I am a student, I don’t have money to spare and sadly book are expensive 😥 and e-books are generally cheaper or even free. And with the whole ‘living on my own’-thing I spend quite some evenings alone in my little studio, not seeing my friends as much, I just crave books.So with that reasoning in mind I just went straight in and bought one.

Well… I didn’t just buy the first one I googled of course! I researched for a couple of weeks, intensively. Because even though my dad knows his shizzle about technology… yet he always tells me I have to research everything. Fun right? trying to figure out what an CPU is and if 1 GHz Freescale i.MX507 is good or not? Having a blast googling processors and resolution comparisons!

Anyhow, I already had 2 brands which I knew were ‘the best’ when it comes to e-readers. The all around famous Kindle from Amazon and Kobo. There are other brands but all the tech sites had these, so let’s go trust the internet. After comparing all the e-reader, in my budget of course, I chose the Kobo Aura second edition (my second in line was the Kindle paperwhite). This one isn’t the best best of the best, but a really good one for the prize. There was an Kindle alternative, but I’ve read Kindle doesn’t open epub-formate books, which I already have.

But why do I write this post?
Just to let you know that e-readers aren’t really that bad. I’ve come to love mine. he doesn’t have backlight or color, so no hard time on your eyes. It has stats, for example it tracks your progress, you’re ‘hours read’, ‘books finished’, it even gives you awards Looks like ‘real’ paper print. I do really like that you can change the font, the size, the line spacing and the margins And I LOVE how in most of the books I have on my Kobo have the font ‘open dyslexic’. My nurse told me last time that she hated it that she never got to read books because she has severe dyslexia and she has to concentrate so hard on reading the words right, that she doesn’t know what she is reading. So I set one of my books in that font, made it bigger and add more line spacing and she liked it!

okay, the anecdote was maybe a bit boring, but dyslexia is a part of my education, so I found that really cool. And I may be going a bit overboard with the love of my Kobo. But it comes in really handy in boring lectures, cuz no teacher sees it. And it’s small (6 inches) so you can take it anywhere (and I do), the battery goes one for weeks.

I’m gonna stop, cuz this is probably not interesting to read. But I’m over excited while writing it.

e-reader

I still have my old beautiful actually printed book and I even go old school and handwrite my blog post

Read y’all later

Lovies

 

Leave a Reply

